Next Match: vs Larkhall Athletic (H) | Fri 26th Jul 2024, 7:30 pm

MATCH REPORT: Hungerford Town 3-2 Chippenham Town | Pre-Season Friendly | Saturday 15th July 2023

Published: at 9:00am

Defeat in Berkshire for The Bluebirds

Chippenham’s second friendly within twenty four hours saw them go down to defeat in Berkshire after twice taking the lead.

The Crusaders were the first to show on three minutes when Nathan Davis’ long throw was flicked on by Luke Carnell to Conor McDonagh who turned the ball in but the effort was ruled out for offside.

The Bluebirds took the lead on seven minutes through Craig Fasanmade who converted a cross to the back post from Tyreke Johnson.

On fourteen minutes a mistake by Will Henry gifted the ball to Slavi Spasov but with Henry caught out of position he shot wide.

Midway through the half Matt McClure’s powerful shot was turned aside by keeper Ryan Clarke.

Hungerford levelled six minutes before the break when Michael Fernandes’ cross was cleared to Curtis Angel who let fly from thirty-five yards to score a superb goal.

On fifty-two minutes Carnell netted with a half-volley but it was chalked off for hand ball.

Two minutes later Chippenham re-gained the lead with a wind-assisted Luke Haines free kick, given after a foul on Jake Evans, that curled into the net from just inside the Hungerford half.

On the hour Crusaders Fabio Lopes’ cross to McDonagh saw his shot tipped over by Henry.

Midway through the half Chippenham made a raft of substitutions and soon found themselves on the back foot as Fernandes cut in from the wing and beat several defenders before rolling the ball home.

On seventy two minutes the ball caught in the wind and put pressure on Henry and Haines but McDonagh could not take advantage and shot against the bar. 

Hungerford scored the winner twelve minutes from time through substitute Toby Thorp who started and ended the move by turning home a cross.

Chippenham: starting XI: Will Henry, Eddie Jones, Luke Haines, Trialist, Mal Nicholls, Will King, Tyreke Johnson, Jake Evans, Craig Fasanmade, Tom Owen-Evans, Matt McClure.

Related News


Accredited Club Logo Wiltshire FA logo Respect logo charter standard club